Internet is officially BACK!

internetproblems

Hey everyone! It has been a long time. Apologies. But I have to say…this is worth posting about because I officially went an ENTIRE YEAR without internet in my home. I am really quite proud! It was tough. I went through major withdrawals, mini tantrums, accumulated ridiculously large cell phone bills, and became the ultimate library dweller to feed my movie addiction. I may or may not have watched every movie the library has to offer…BUT that being said, I didn’t give into the ultimate temptation of getting that convenience of in-home WiFi back for a whole year and that in itself is a big accomplishment in my eyes!

The things I learned during the process are as follows. I am the ultimate movie junkie. Working all day on a computer can be very mentally exhausting and so movies are a great mind numbing way to unwind every day after work. And I didn’t let not having WiFi at home stop me from feeding my addiction! Although I will say, with the library and video store being my only real source of acquiring movies, I did watch less than I would have if I still had WiFi and access to the ever expanding Netflix library. But I mean, I am a movie junkie to the core. Not just for mind numbing purposes. I truly love and appreciate the art of film and always will, WiFi or not! So it was pretty interesting dealing with that kind of withdrawal. The convenience of WiFi certainly affected my habit in different ways over the course of this year long experiment; and I was able to fully come to this conclusion about my movie addiction. (Unashamedly so)

I learned you need WiFi for almost everything! Checking our bank account, looking up recipes online for meals, paying bills, asking Siri questions about life…checking movie times, emails, Facebook (since the majority of my job is social media based, this was a struggle, because I had to always be checking notifications), I mean the list goes on. So I had to up my cellular data package in order to check certain things on the regular during time at home. Because it’s not always convenient to have to go and track down a restaurant or library with free WiFi.

I learned that there were some days, I literally did not know how to function without WiFi. I knew there were other things I could be doing. Painting, drawing, working out, cleaning, cooking, baking, going for a walk…and tons more. Although I did do all those things…some days I just wanted to do mindless Facebook scrolling, Snap chatting, playing my stupid online games, browse Netflix…I went so far as to driving to a Tim Horton’s at 9PM to use their WiFi so I could get caught up on my Fashion app. Stupid things like this happened on the regular.

So all this to say is, I am glad I went through the experience, because it was eye opening. And I did learn to unplug and pull out a book, or draw on the balcony, I worked out more regularly, started going for runs, and even played a few board games with the Mister now and then. But the cyber world is very much a necessary part of life now and being without it proves many struggles (whether for selfish purposes or basic needs). And if I’m throwing it all out there? Internet is NOT cheap, and it should be. It IS a necessity and people should not have to be spending upwards of $150 or more a month to have it in their homes. That is something I will never understand.

We decided to get it back now, after all this time, because there was a smashing deal available to residents of our apartment building, $100 a month for high speed internet AND cable for 2 years. Which is awesome considering we were paying $90 a month just for basic internet (which was terribly slow) before we called it quits. So only because of that deal did we decide to get it back for right now, and we’ll keep it for the 2 years that this deal is available and then we will reconsider our options.

So there you have it! Proof from an internet junkie that I went a year without internet in my home, and the struggles that came with it along with the positive benefits from it! What I would conclude from this experience is that WiFi is a necessity, but it is definitely extremely important to unplug once in a while and remember the good, simple things in life, like a walk in the woods, exercise, enjoying the company of people, the simplicity of a canvas and a paintbrush or a sketchbook and a pencil, all without technology’s distractions. I hope you will be encouraged to try this experiment for yourself and see how exactly life at home without WiFi affects you! Until next time….

…Miss Blue…

Leave a Reply

